God Grant me . . .

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

OK – so here it is. . . More insight being revealed throughout this current leg of my journey through life. . . I lost my job last Thursday. I was stunned. It happened because I looked at our company’s books and realized we were spending too much on overhead. Me – being half of that overhead – was the most dispensable. So – the next day, at a meeting I called, I was let go. . . Shit, right?

You all know how I have been feeling lately anyway. . . struggling, et al. . .

Then – today I was talking to a friend who is also struggling. At one point I told her to let go of the things over which she has no control. It was then it hit me like a ton of bricks. I started running through the serenity prayer.

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

That part was very profound to me – because I think it directly relates to my thoughts of the greener grass. Last year, when I was blogging about transition, change, and green grass – I believe Lynnski made a comment reflecting the serenity prayer. Obviously, I did not take pay attention. Today, however, when I managed to rediscover it for myself, it all got a little clearer still. So – here, I have included the last half – with a few modifications, as to account for my lack of belief in our monotheistic “God.”

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking the world as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that all things will be made right
if I surrender to the will of the Gods;
That I may be supremely happy in this life.

Amen.

Adapted from Reinhold Niebuhr.

~ by shinshige on 26 July 2009.

One Response to “God Grant me . . .”

  1. The serenity prayer is one of the most sensible thoughts ever put to memory. I recite it often, try to live it the best I can, and attempt to heed it’s message. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

 
