Geneticists are Heroes.

I am still writing about my heroes.  Well, I was talking to my siblings about who amongst us can curl our tongues.  I cannot and all three of my siblings can.  Tongue curling is a dominant trait.  I am not sure if both of my parents could do it or not, but at least one of the two had to be able to because 3/4 of us CAN do it. . .

punnett square

This punnett square shows how the probabilities work . . .  I find this fascinating.

If “A” is the trait of being abot to curl your tongue, and “a” is the inability, then you only need one “A” to be able to do it.  However, in orfer to not have the ability (like me), then one needs two “a”s to allow for the trait to NOT show up.  If you look at the square, the odd of having 2 “a”s is .25 – which is what happened in our family.  Nice.

I will not like this to my siblings. . .

Ciao.

~ by shinshige on 3 June 2009.

One Response to “Geneticists are Heroes.”

  1. I cam curl my toes, oh crap I didn’t realize people couldn’t. I think I can curl my tongue, but it may only be an illusion…err maybe that is dellusion.

Leave a Reply

 
