Change of address . . .

I woke up this morning to a 12 hour drive. I knew that was going to happen, so last night, I went to bed at like 9:45. All was fine and dandy for about 30 minutes. Then Gavin decided he was not ready to sleep, so he kept asking questions about the sirens outside, the TV in the front room (that was being watched by his uncle, Daniel) his superheroes (that he got from grandma and granddaddy). . .

I fell asleep, with my arm around Sarah, then had one of those [jerk me awake] motions that suck. So, I rolled over and started dicking around for a few minutes. Sometime in the next 15 minutes of so, I did the same thing – just about asleep, and jerked awake, to my (and Sarah’s) chagrin. So – I started tossing and turning, telling Gavin to fall asleep, because we had a long drive the next day (today.) Bleh bleh bleh . . . It was quite tiring. Little did I know exactly HOW tiring. Between 10:30 p.m. and 1:00 a.m., I did not sleep – I did, however, clean out probably 50 unnecessary numbers from my cell phone. I think I fell asleep between 1:00 and 3:00ish. Then – guess what happened? I woke up again -until at least 4:00. then, between 5:00 and 5:45, when I finally got up, I tossed and turned some more. Part of me thinks it was the Pepsi I had at lunch. Most would think it has something to do with the fact I now live in Concord, California. I have an interview in the morning (Thursday) at ITT Tech. Go me.

OK – so we got up before 6:00. We ate breakfast, get dressed, packed, locked and loaded. By the time we stopped for gas, etc., it was 7:45 before we finally got on the road. That annoyed me. I wanted to be out by 7:00. Oh well.

We headed out – my in a 17′ U-Haul, with the dog, Plato – Sarah in our Xterra, with the boy and the cat. Long story short – we stopped in Elko for lunch and for gas. The place we stopped to eat was decent, and there was an interesting couple of men in a closed section of the restaurant – a la 1973 Vegas. ;)

After lunch we drove to Winnemucca for gas, and then to Reno for one last gas stop. There, we went to a Texaco, and Sarah’s debit card, the one we has been using for days – since mine was canceled (that’s a whole different story) – was declined, because as the clerk said, “You have hit your limit.” I asked who’s limit, to which he replied – “yours.” I had NO idea what he meant (in fact, I still have no idea) . . . so I called our bank, and after a few minutes we decided what the problem actually was. Oh wait – no we didn’t. The bank had no idea, and the dude at the store could not communicate efficiently, saying things like, “I still need to get paid.” So – I used our credit card – which I never want to do – and moved on. . .

We stopped one last time in Auburn, so I could pee, and Sarah could get our phone charger. That was an interesting stop. Given our experience in Auburn, I would say the people there are rude. Sorry. . . They honk and get pissy. I don’t like it.

So – we pulled in a bit before 8:00 and had a spaghetti dinner waiting for us. Mmmmmm. . . Oh – and a very nice bottle of wine. Thank you, gentlemen. ;) It was a wonderful reception. We cleared a bunch of clothes out of the car, and I fed the animals. Now – here I sit, writing my 13th blog out of 14 days this month. I am still extremely excited. Go me (again.)

As I said – I have an interview in the morning. So, I am going to sleep here shortly. Thanks for following. Oh – I forgot. I am going to start, SOON, a non-personal non-leisure blog on my other site, http://socialdiscovery.wordpress.com. Hope to see you there.

Ciao.

~ by shinshige on 15 January 2009.

2 Responses to “Change of address . . .”

  1. I have learned…the hard way… medicate myself and go to be early. Sadly you can not medicate a kid and their excitement… it’s worse than Christmas eve at age five.

    Fingers are crossed for you and Sarah.

  2. I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

Leave a Reply

 
