NaBloPoMo: Day 6.

It is 5:00 p.m. and the clock behind me is chiming. Wow, that was cool. . .

I think taking care of oneself is a multifaceted thing. I will comment on the 4 pillars of a strongly founded (grounded) human. Then, I will address them over the next while. . . Spirituality, mentality, emotionality, and physicality are the bases for all of our strength. These 4 things need to be equal in weight and aptitude.

Today’s topic is physical. . .Change, as we know, is a necessity. Last night, a friend and I went to the gym. That was a fabulous change from my old routine. I used to partake of the gymnasium, on a relatively regular basis, back in the day. Once we end up here, I will be going more – I guar-an-tee it. If I don’t, then something is definitely wrong.

At the end of 1996, I weighed in at 196 pounds. When I was a kid – that is what I wanted to weigh as an adult. I just wanted to be all buff and manly. rawr. But, as I got older, that became a less appealing goal for me. So – I lost nearly 40 pounds, and was down to a little less than 160. I did that primarily, by changing my eating habits and patterns. I heard from someone today who has done some changing of his own in that department and he reports that it is going well. Portion size is of the utmost importance. And – watching fat intake and overall caloric intake. Those three things make the difference.

Now that my entire life is in flux – and change is everywhere, I want to lose those same 8 pounds or so, and get back down to 162ish. Right now, I am hovering around 170 – maybe a little higher (171-2) – and I think that is too high. For my height and body structure – I should weigh between 157 and 175 pounds. You can see I am within the range, but I want to be at the lower end of that range. Therefore – I guess I need to change my weight by a few pounds, eh?

Tomorrow is Sarah’s 2nd interview. I AM STOKED!!! The folks at the Rainbow Community Center had better hire her. She would be GREAT for the gig.

Well – day 6 and all is well. I’ll see you tomorrow.

Ciao.

~ by shinshige on 6 January 2009.

3 Responses to “NaBloPoMo: Day 6.”

  1. You look great, period. I’m glad that you’re choosing health and being aware of yourself and your body. My only concern is that you’re not seeing your own forest because of the trees. This… from a man who chose to sit on his ass catching up on blogging instead of joining you at the gym. Yeah, I suck.

  2. Sideon – thank you for the compliment. Now – the next time I ask if we are going to the gym tonight, and it is late afternoon, and you say say – then damnit – I am going to hold you to it. Y’hear?

    Ciao.

  3. Good luck to you and Sarah!

Leave a Reply

 
