Things Need to Change; or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb.

So – you all know I have been a stay at home dad since September. My unemployment ran out almost a month ago, so that has been making things a bit tougher, and I have been looking for a job for months. I have nearly 30 resumes out at the University in various capacities, to no avail, and all around – shit just sucks financially. Sarah has been making plenty of money, and it has not been a problem. She is in Title and Escrow, and with mortgage lenders acting the way they are, her industry has been hit pretty hard. Her company does not run efficiently, and as a result, they have been laying off people left and right. They have a lot of waste in terms of their spending, but just like all corporations, they only look at bottom line – not the welfare of the people they employ. People ask me why I am an anti-capitalist and it really makes me question THEIR sanity. Why, I ask, ARE you a Capitalist? Fucking pigs.

Well, Sarah got an email today that said the following:

Subject: Salary Expense Reduction Plan

Blah blah blah – we understand your hardship – blah blah blah – we are capitalist pigs – blah blah blah – life is hard – blah blah blah . . .

“As of July 1, 2008 we will implement the following until further notice:

    All full time employees who punch in and out daily will be required to take 2 days per month off without pay.. . .”

Don’t worry about the people you are fucking, or the waste at the top of the salary scale – only look after your bottom line – bottom is right, bottom feeders. Scum suckers. What the fuck ever. . .

We’re already strapped, I can’t get a goddamned job and my unemployment has run out, and now Sarah is being required to take a 10% pay cut. Bullshit. You want to cut 10% from your payroll budget – shit-can 10% of your bullshit upper management staff who are already overpaid and under-skilled. Or better yet, cut back on all the waste your company goes through every month on bullshit outsourcing.

Fuck it – I’m stealing a boat and squatting on an island in the Pacific.

Out.

~ by shinshige on 19 June 2008.

9 Responses to “Things Need to Change; or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb.”

  1. Ugh… I am… shit… I am without words on this. That just fucking sucks!!!

  2. That is amazing. My employer, who is a combination of two companies that are the very epitome of capitalism, doesn’t even treat people that bad. Of course, that’s due to the fact we have awesome people running it who are aware treating people well results in awesome things. I hope they don’t go to this mindset – it sucks.

    Hang in there dude…

  3. That does suck, my fingers are crossed for you.

  4. Yukkers! I’m with you on the capitalism thing. It doesn’t work without a lot of intervention to make sure the big dudes don’t crap all over the little dudes. But that’s what trickles down in the trickle down method anyway. And it only works really well for the big dudes.

    We should all have lunch on one of Sarah’s unpaid days off so we can plot how to get to that island without having to steal the boat.

    Lynn

  5. **big hugs to you and your family**

    ((I suck for having been absent in the blogosphere a few weeks))

    ((bad friend, bad, bad, bad!))

  6. Everyone – thank you.

    Don – you suck. ;)

  7. My two word review: Shit Sandwich.

    I know you’ll make it work, brother. I’m putting out some good vibes for you.

  8. It is bullshit just like you say it is.
    Always the hard workers get the bum wrap while the management or lack of continue to get the great perks and security.

    Sorry to hear this happened, I truly hope work comes your way soon mate!

  9. That just isn’t right. I’m sorry this is happening. I’m sending you good vibes and luck in finding a job.

Leave a Reply

 
