“. . . in a square, with sauce.”

Capitol Reef. Have you ever been to any of the National Parks or Forests in Southern Utah? They are all pretty similar. Red rock, sandstone canyons, pinon pines, junipers, snakes, scorpions, ants, sand, cacti. You know – that kind of stuff. ;)

I used to really like it down there, but since Sarah and I have been together, a lot has changed in me. . . Hmmm. . . Take that as you will, I suppose. Regardless, I don’t camp anymore, I don’t go to Southern Utah anymore, I don’t do a lot of things I used to do. Cap Reef is one of those places.

We got there Friday afternoon. We stayed in a cabin in a town called Teasdale. It is a lot like the other towns down there, and it sits right in between Torrey and Bicknell. The cabin was at the Southwest edge of the town. After we got all unloaded, and situated in the cabin, we went for a walk near where we stayed. It was not bad, but it was cloudy and pretty cool. Then the wind started blowing and it got a lot cooler. We went, that night, into Bicknell, to see Iron Man. Gavin really wanted to see it, and I have to admit, so did I. The Wayne Theatre (We were in Wayne County) is the only movie theatre in the region, so folks travel from far and wide to enjoy a piece of the big city. ;) They show one movie each weekend on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights at 8:00. It just so happened that Iron Man was that weekend. Next weekend is Nim’s Island. It looks cute. Jodie Foster, Abigail Breslin, and some other people. ;)

On Saturday, we drove with Sarah’s folks into the park. Unfortunately, Sarah’s father’s driving makes me motion sick. It pretty much has since we met – almost 7 years ago. But, I am a trooper, so I keep riding with him. After a bit, we went back to the cabin for lunch before we were to go on a hike, but because I was not feeling well, Sarah told her folks to just take Gavin with them and we would stay back. A few hours later, Sarah and I drove into Torrey and got some cash at an ATM (oh sorry, THE ATM), and went back into the park to get some salsa. I know, weird. The park is only about 11 miles from Torrey, so it was really not that bad. That night, we watched Transformers back at the cabin (Gavin loves that movie).

On Saturday morning, I was up around 6:00. Sunday was 6:30, and Monday was about 5:45. That was actually pretty relaxing. No one else was up, so I just got to read in peace, in the front room.

On Sunday, we went for a hike to Cohab Canyon, in the park. It is pretty much straight up for the first quarter mile, then it gets relatively easier. Gavin went with us, and actually walked most of it by himself. On the way back down, after he could see just how far up we were, he declared to Sarah and her mother, “This is NOT for kids.” Sarah said it was the most emotional, matter-of-fact statement he has ever professed. Heh. The father-in-law and I missed it because we went farther ahead, before we turned around, so were not quite back to them yet. For lunch on Sunday, we stopped at Subway. Mmmmm, that was delishe. After the hike, we ate at one of the little picnic areas just past the visitor’s center. That night, Sarah and I went to Café Diablo, a 5 star joint in Torrey, for dinner. The food was good, but the service was mediocre, and the overall experience was just not what I think it should have been. So, for dessert, we left and went to a place on the other side of town, called the Rim Rock Inn and Restaurant. I liked it there.

While we were eating dessert, a couple from somewhere in Europe came in and was seated at the table next to us. I never actually heard them speak too clearly, so I am not sure from which European country they came. What I do know, however, is they did not speak English very well, and their English vocabularies were not the best. The highlight of those moments was when the waitress told them one of their specials for the evening was meatloaf. The woman, who was the translator of the couple, inquired as to what was meatloaf, exactly. To which the waitress replied, “It’s hamburger, and meat . . . in a square . . . with sauce.” Holy crap, I almost fell out of my chair, I was laughing so hard. Oh, then when asked for Ranch dressing, the same waitress replied they did not have Ranch. So, she was asked what they DO have. The list went something like: Italian (which was pronounced EYE-talian), blue cheese, blueberry vinaigrette, thousand island, RANCH, and oil and vinegar. Again – I had to turn my head, as to not laugh directly at her. She was a nice enough girl, but you know . . .

That was the climax of the trip. On Monday, we loaded up and were on the road by 8:30 or so. Here it is – over 24 hours later, and I have still not recovered.

~ by shinshige on 27 May 2008.

4 Responses to ““. . . in a square, with sauce.””

  1. I haven’t been camping in years, but I so look forward to the next time – when ever and where ever that maybe. I went through the southern Utah canyons when I was very young, someday I’d like to do it again, I just remember them as so pictureques.

  2. I love the canyon country. Thanks for reminding me of it. Your description of the waitress is hilarious. My mom never made it with sauce, but the square meat part is right on.

  3. Thanks for sharing your weekend. I mis-read the last paragraph as the climax of the trip being packing up and leaving. :) Now, I see the highlight had been going for dessert and the waitress’s foible. It sounds like that area has some similarities to the one I live in.

  4. Nice. I have to admit, being in Germany I have committed many mistakes such as this poor waitress. Its always amusing when you turn your ear on to interpret another language, or an accented English, and miss some of the most common cognates. Embarrassment has become so regular it doesn’t even exist in these situations anymore.

    C’est la vie.

    thanks for sharing your stories- love em.

Leave a Reply

 
