Talk Thursday: Behind Those Eyes.

No one knows what it’s like
to be the bad man,
to be the sad man . . . behind those eyes.

No one knows what it’s like
to be jaded, like I do. Then – I saw you.

No one knows what it’s like
to be the hated one,
the negated one. . . always blue.

No one knows what it’s like
to feel these feelings, they’re deep inside. . .

No one knows what it’s like
to be misleading,
to be receding, where is my pride?

And my life, it seems to be empty.
Then I look around and see;
You are there . . . you’re always with me,
and I remember what is free.

When my eyes spied you. They saw right through. . .
Just like they knew what you would do.
Your ivory hue, it’s naught but true,
You are not mine, but to pursue!

No one knows what it’s like
to be the bad man,
to be the sad man . . . behind those eyes.

Mad props to The Who for their inspiration and to Sideon for providing the topic. . .

~ by shinshige on 21 May 2008.

7 Responses to “Talk Thursday: Behind Those Eyes.”

  1. I never knew the lyrics to that song. Nice.

    Now I hear it in my head and I’m going to play INXS so I can get something else going until I go to bed – otherwise, I’ll be hearing the Who.

  2. Dude, these are not the lyrics to the song. (Hence, the props for inspiration). I changed pretty much everything. . . Sheesh – you should look them up and compare. :P

  3. Okay… so if those AREN’T the lyrics, then they fit in really nicely with the song because I was singing it in my head as I read them too! KA-BLAM! You nailed it!

  4. ;-)

  5. This song is one of my favs. Cyn

  6. Nice take off on a great song. Hate to admit it, but I first heard it was on an episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I’ve always liked it. Buffy too.

  7. Shiggy,

    Interesting twist on the lyrics and application of the meaning.
    It wasn’t the easiest Talk Thrusday topic…Sid.

    Cele

Leave a Reply

 
