For you.

Sitting on the floor at the foot of the desk,
I was intrigued to say the least.
I had not met anyone like you at any point in my life,
By a few minutes, all hesitation had ceased
to exist by what I knew you to be.
That was free.
Well, as free as could be. . .
Our Society –
You see, is more like a tree.
It is stable, rooted, unwilling to change.
In the grand scheme of things, that to me is a strange
thought and idea – a way to live.
A way in which you are not able to give
or take.
Take away, take away, take away that ball and chain.
Near a decade later, and here we are.
Still as confused and dismayed as that old Russian Czar.
He looked around, the same as we,
and thought the same thoughts – How can this be?
I had it together, I had it all straight,
but as I look around, I stop – and think . . . wait. . .
Wait a minute, what happened? Where did you go?
Just a few minutes ago – you were right down the road.
When I wanted a reading, or just a gentle touch,
I would get on the horn and it wouldn’t take much
to get where you were – to get as close as I needed.
More often than not, I succeeded.
So now, here we are and you wanted a tale.
I am doing my best, I hope I don’t fail
to show how I feel about you my friend.
Know I am yours all the way to the end.
Whatever happens, wherever we wander,
my memories of you will always grow fonder.
Fonder, they say, the heart grows with absence.
I don’t buy that – its just a defense
to protect us from loss and distance and nonsense.
You were the first and you will be the last
man who I love in my future and past.
No doubt in my heart do I dare profess
Take this, my dear, as the truth I confess. . .

~ by shinshige on 9 May 2008.

4 Responses to “For you.”

  1. This poem is perfectly you: multi-meanings, multi-leveled (yet transparent), honest, real, conversational, brave, haphazard (yet purposeful), gentle, and loving.

    I had no idea you wrote so well, querido.

  2. Really? You like it? That makes me happy. Like I told Cele earlier, when writers like what I write, it makes me happy. ;) I love you, Sideon.

  3. Beautifully written. I love the layers to it, the depth, the insights.

  4. I like this writing as well. It makes me want to ask questions and know more.

Leave a Reply

 
