Talk Thursday: What if I was 10 years old?

If I was 10 years old, I would be living in Murray, with my parents. It would be 1985. I would be in 5th grade. My father would be alive for 6 more years. My mother – another 20. Life would be easy, safe.

If I was 10 years old, the world would have a lot going on: Back to the Future would be the highest grossing movie of the year and Out of Africa would win Best Picture Oscar, the liner, Achille Lauro would be hijacked, Mark Hoffman would be caught blowing people up, the Titanic would be discovered, Calvin and Hobbs would premiere, John Gotti would order the killings of the Gambino bosses, making him the most powerful Mafioso in the United States, the Chicago Bears would win the Super Bowl, the Challenger space shuttle would explode, Geraldo would make a fool of himself while investigating Al Capone, and an agent for the USPS goes “postal”, for the first time.

If I was 10 years old, I would not begin high school for another 5 years. I would not start college for 8. I would not meet my first girlfriend for another 9 years. My wife would not come into my life for 17, and my son would show up in 19.

If I was 10 years old, I would still know Ronald Reagan and George Bush were not who I would want running my country, and would be pissed they won re-election last year. Likewise in 1988, 2000, and 2004.

If I was 10 years old, I would ask my father, all the time, to go outside and play catch with me. I would resent him when we was too tired, because I did not know he worked harder in one day than most people do in a month. I would not know he would die in 6 years, or I would have tried a lot harder to not have resented anything about him.

If I was 10 years old, I would not recognize what the world would be in 2008.

If I was 10 years old, I would not know Sideon.

If I was 10 years old, the word, “blog”, would not exist.

See you soon.

~ by shinshige on 25 April 2008.

4 Responses to “Talk Thursday: What if I was 10 years old?”

  1. When you came up with this topic I couldn’t figure out what to write, how to address it, despite thinking on the subject for a week. Then I blogged. Now reading yours I am jealous of what you wrote, how you addressed the subject. Great post.

  2. Excellent.

    I thought about it and jotted things down at work today when I should have been working. As Cele mentioned, I wasn’t quite sure how to approach this topic. You did really well.

  3. When I got the idea, I thought, “Hey, this will be fun.” Then I sat down to write and my first thought was, “Hey, what in God’s name am I supposed to do with this? Fuck.” So – thanks to you for your warm comments. ;)

  4. Lovin’ what you did with this. I especially love it when *I* am the one that picks the topic and end up saying the same thing as you, “Hey, what in God’s name am I supposed to do with this? Fuck.” LOL!

Leave a Reply

 
